So Tuesday morning at 5am, like always, WoW servers are turned off for 6 hours for maintenance. At 4:45am I had just finished one AV instance, and decided to go for one more. An 11 minute AV win is not a rare thing, and is usually how it goes. So we get in there, and already we (Alliance) have something like a 40-30 advantage. Everybody is on their game it seems, and we stick to the usual AV plan of groups 1-5 to RH, 6-8 take Galv and the towers. It’s flawless. Absolutely beautiful to be a part of. Speaking of being a part of it, I ended up tanking Drek because nobody else volunteered. Go go freshly dinged 69 fury warrior! We won, it was awesome, and I logged out with the system messages counting down the seconds to the server being shut down.

So, I logged in today after I got home from the mall. Naturally, I’m still PvP flagged since I had logged out directly after being in a battlefield, and I don’t think anything of it, nor do I really notice it. I head out of the PvP room, and go towards the mailbox and the auction house, like I always do first thing. As I’m riding my mount through the halls of Ironforge, I notice something very strange. It’s a guy, with a red name, hunched over a skeleton on the ground. It’s a Horde. I figured he must have been messing around and gotten killed by a guard or somebody. Anyways, he fades away as I’m standing there looking at him, and I figure he either logged out or used his hearthstone. I turn to resume my trip to the mailbox when I suddenly just stop. I’m like “…huh?” Then I notice the little debuff icon on me. I’ve been sapped. The Horde then reappears and starts kicking my ass. That’s when I remember my PvP flag was still on, and I realize that this Horde is a rogue, which is why he disappeared in front of me.

My nice PvP buffs from the night before, which had me pumped to 11k hp were short lived as this guy kicked my ass just before a wandering guard aggroed on him. I run back in from the graveyard outside, rez myself, go to the mailbox, which has a dozen skeletons all over in front of it, and then hit the auction house to put up my expired items. While I’m doing this, the Horde runs in and kills 2 of the 3 auctioneer NPCs before the assembled Alliance folk realize what’s going on and kill him there. I had no idea you could kill an auctioneer (or 2) so fast.

Leave a Reply

